Thank You!

Lately I’ve been obsessed with makeup! The artists, the products, the industry… All of it! What I really want to talk about today is Male Makeup Artists!

These guys really deserve some recognition! The men who are out there on instagram and YouTube, who put their art into a world full of hate and criticism, yet they continue to push the boundaries! Hooray for them! Make people uncomfortable until it’s something they’re used to.

I have so much respect for artists in every category. When you put yourself out there, it’s raw and frightening. People can be cruel, and even more so behind the protection of their own screen. What’s worse, is these same people aren’t always behind the screen, and will become violent if you threaten their values and ideals. When somebody continues to create art that can literally put their lives in jeopardy, they deserve a little more respect, in my opinion.

I’m not just talking about Drag Queens either, there are men out there who do their makeup, but still dress and act like men! That takes guts. Even if you’re not going outside like that, you’re just sharing it online, you’re helping. You’re helping to eliminate ignorance. You’re helping to inspire others. You’re helping!

I have a personal reason to appreciate these men, as I’m experiencing something new. I am currently raising three boys and one girl. The two oldest are boys, born on the same day six years apart. The oldest is my nephew, and the other is my first born. They are all boy (16 and 10)! I never really had to keep them out of makeup or anything. My nephew liked clothes, and still does, but never “girly” stuff. My son is all about dirt and violence (and reading and kindness). Then I have my little princess (8), who is just tomboy enough to keep up with her brothers, but she loves to be my little dolly! Then there’s my youngest boy. He’s very into cars, and animals, and airplanes. He loves to play wrestle with his big brother and snuggle with his big sister. However, he also insisted on wearing the pink pull ups. He adores anything that glitters and for the life of me, I can’t keep that boy out of my makeup! He’s only 3, so he might grow out of it, but he might not. So THANK YOU to the men who are paving the way today, because if my son decides that he wants to be fabulous, damn it, I want him to be free to do it!

Leave a Reply

